RSS Feed

April Fool U Protein Waffles

I admit it. I love waffles. I love making them for the fam, I love the way my daughter oohs and aaahs that they are the best waffles EVA! and i love that I usually make leftovers and pop ’em in the micro the next day and eat one on the way to work. Its really not a problem as i see it, but I have been in the habit of using the “just add water” easy mix and not by scratch. It is a shame to get the waffle iron out and put little to no effort in to the mix. So, I’ve changed. In search of a healthy recipe, i found a website called My Trainer Paige. She had a great recipe and so i doubled it and threw in a few of my own ideas. Here it goes. BTW, I made them on April Fool’s day, not for any reason, just because.

Dry Ingredients: (mix together in large bowl)

Happy Spoons make Happy Waffles!

Happy Spoons make Happy Waffles!

2 c. Whole Wheat Flour,

2 scoops protein powder (vanilla), You could probably use another flavor? and no particular brand, something you like. Mine has 26g protein per scoop.

2 Tbsp sugar (Or what you use as sweetener) ,

1 tsp salt, 1 tsp baking soda, sprinkle cinnamon,

Wet ingredients: (mix together in small bowl)

2 eggs, 2 tsp vanilla extract, 2 cups skim milk,

Stir  wet ingredients into the dry. Do not over mix.

IMG_0514

Now that they are happy-get’em steamy.

Spray your waffle iron with non stick spray and pour in the batter.

When the steam slows to almost stopping–whooopie! They are done!

Toppings are always personal preference, while I still LOVE real butter on mine, I feel a little less guilty finishing them off with fresh fruit. I’ve done mini chocolate chips, banana, peanut-butter, and greek yogurt, choose whatever is around and looks good, you can’t go wrong,  I promise.

IMG_0515

Rasberries, blueberries, blackberries and antioxidant dream!

I have a great friend who has her own jam company, “Big Bad Dad’s Homemade Jam’s and Jellies”, so I am a bit of a jam snob. Her jams are all natural no preservatives, and packed with amazing flavor combinations! (I recommend Go-Blue. A combo of Goji Berries and Blueberries she made just for me.<3) Heat a little jam in the microwave or saucepan and pour it over a hot steamy waffle…its heaven.

My daughter prefers her waffles the traditional way with syrup. I can’t blame her, honestly, maple syrup is the purest of sweeteners. Since the whole wheat makes the waffles a bit more dense than she is used to, I cut the waffles into long dunking waffles. I placed a small bowl with syrup on the side and she had a lot of fun with it! “Best waffles EVA!”

IMG_0516

Dunking waffle sticks

The waffle makeover was a success. Simple basic recipe, you could alter a hundred different ways for your taste. It was an easy way to get  in extra protein. Release yourself from waffle guilt, like me. Try it.

http://www.bigbaddadsjams.com  or  http://www.facebook.com/BigBadDadsJams

Run Jersey Strong,  Cindy

About she runs jersey strong

Mother, wife, runner. Club president of Southern Ocean Ladies Running Club. Race Director/Event planner Shamrocks For Sandy Run.

Leave a Reply

The Awesome Runner's Awesome Running Blog

Herein I Address Running & Being Otherwise Generally Awesome

Run Alex Run

The perks of being a runner

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

Hysterical Runner

A runner proving that having a hysterectomy doesn't mean retiring your trainers

NJ COASTAL BUILDER

LBI CUSTOM BEACH HOME BUILDER

Celebrationcreationsnj's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Thoughts Over a Cup of Coffee

Just another WordPress.com site

farrahhyman's Blog

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

dawncentanni's Blog

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

cgiracing

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

my site

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Strong and Sweet Fitness

Strong Bodies. Sweet Hearts.

Body in Motion

...on the move

dbackssite

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Growing....Growing....

Cha-Cha-Cha-Changes

RunSignUp

Built By Runners For Runners

Jersea Runner Girl

This is my happy pace

Rainy Writer

Garbbly-goop from one Pacific NW blogger

lindymean

My Running Blog & Everything That Goes With It

