RSS Feed

IMG_0565

This is me.

This is my first 5k. June 2011.

If i look nervous, it’s because i was. I remember my husband taking the photo, I could barely smile. This photo shows me at my most vulnerable. I knew i would finish the race, but i didn’t know what it would be like to run with others. I didn’t know what it would be like to be timed. I didn’t know what it would be like to HAVE to run 3.1 miles. I wasn’t sure how i would do. But i was sure that i wanted to TRY.

Looking back at this day, i didn’t think i was a runner. I went to the gym, I ran around the neighborhood, but i never embraced the title, “runner”. I was never athletic in school, i  was never athletic in my life. I changed this day.

I finished. I was beaming. I was ready for the next race. Insert {perma-smile} I wanted more. I wanted to be “more”.

This is the LAST photo you will ever see me barely smiling. I now grin from ear to ear before, during and after races. In the last two years i have completed 5 half marathons, 1 full marathon, and many 5ks, 5 milers and 10k’s. I love to run. I love to talk about running. I love to read about running. I love running and thinking about my next run. I love everything it has done for me and brought to my life.

I am thankful for my running friends in the beginning who inspired me and motivated me to be more. I had dreams and goals and crazy ideas, and some great women to support me. Together we knew we could be something bigger. We could be something really good. And the ideas started flowing…

Lets get matching shirts? We did.

Let’s start a facebook page? We did.

Let’s form a club? We did.

Let’s join the RRCA? We did.

Let’s host our own race? We are. 3/17/2013 “Shamrocks For Sandy” -(ill save that for another blog)

I am now the President of Southern Ocean Ladies Running Club. We go by SOL or S.O.L. which gets the occasional giggle, but we are far from s.out.luck. We are 60 + women strong. We have became a fierce group of females. We are positive peer motivation at its best. We run together, we run alone, we meet up, we challenge each other, and pick each other up. I love this group of women. I love being a part of them. I love seeing what we have become and the accomplishments we have made. We are the only running club in Southern Ocean County and the only woman’s running club for miles.

Together we have set goals, and together we have met each one. We are changing the ideas of woman’s fitness in our community, we are changing the ratio of woman runners in races to our favor. These woman are empowering to me, and i am happy to lead them into our first year as an established club. I am not doing this alone.  I have them. And they have me.

My first blog is like my first 5k. I am vulnerable. This is me.  I don’t know what it will manifest into, or where it will lead. Please NEVER take me too seriously. I am not a professional athlete, doctor or therapist. I am just a woman who loves to run. (OK, so,  typing the warning not to take me “seriously” makes me laugh a little, but you should know where i’m coming from.) I am not perfect. I am sloppy at yoga, i skip weight training days, I have a love of nachos and wine, (red wine makes nachos spicier, try it, thank me later), i have terrible bouts of insomnia and i have an outrageous collection of running gear.

I have many goals this year, and i am going to blog my way through them. I’m hoping the blogging/running, community will embrace me and give my creativity an outlet. And some help along the way.

I do truly believe, “Every Accomplishment Begins With The Decision To Try”.

Run Jersey Strong,

Cindy

P.S. This is the VP of my club, Tara. Same race as above 1 year later.

And, YES that is an age group placer medal around my neck. Insert {Perma-Smile}

IMG_0873

3 responses »

  1. I love it! Perfection! Can’t wait to hear more.

    Reply
  2. Great Job Cindy…this is how passionate people write…everything just comes from the soul and the heart you can tell. This is how you change peoples lives and make a difference of which you have already done with so many people. Congratulations and I look forward to reading your next post!

    Reply
  3. Welcome to the blogging world…great entry 🙂 I was smiling the entire time I was reading because I can relate so much!!! Keep up all the great work!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

The Awesome Runner's Awesome Running Blog

Herein I Address Running & Being Otherwise Generally Awesome

Run Alex Run

The perks of being a runner

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

Hysterical Runner

A runner proving that having a hysterectomy doesn't mean retiring your trainers

NJ COASTAL BUILDER

LBI CUSTOM BEACH HOME BUILDER

Celebrationcreationsnj's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Thoughts Over a Cup of Coffee

Just another WordPress.com site

farrahhyman's Blog

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

dawncentanni's Blog

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

cgiracing

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

my site

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Strong and Sweet Fitness

Strong Bodies. Sweet Hearts.

Body in Motion

...on the move

dbackssite

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Growing....Growing....

Cha-Cha-Cha-Changes

RunSignUp

Built By Runners For Runners

Jersea Runner Girl

This is my happy pace

Rainy Writer

Garbbly-goop from one Pacific NW blogger

lindymean

My Running Blog & Everything That Goes With It

